District Council of Tumby Bay

Categories: Government and Community

The District Council of Tumby Bay is located on Southern Eyre Peninsula and incorporates the districts of Ungarra, Lipson, Port Neill and Tumby Bay. Tumby Bay is the main service centre for the District with smaller towns including Port Neill, Ungarra and Lipson. Other areas include Cockaleechie, Yallunda Flat, Butler, Stokes, Moody, Koppio, Hutchison, Louth and Brooker.


The Township of Tumby Bay is an important service centre to the surrounding agricultural community with rural suppliers, insurance agencies, fuel outlets, RAA representative and mechanical suppliers.

It is well equipped with a modern hospital, doctors surgery, school, kindergarten, shopping, sporting and accommodation facilities. It has a motel, two hotels, self contained holiday units, flats and cabins, beach-front caravan park, backpacker accommodation and numerous take-away/dine in food outlets.

The town of Tumby Bay offers a variety of services with two local supermarkets, hairdressers, Australia Post shop, gift shops, bakery, accommodation and eating facilities.

Tumby Bay and Port Neill have good recreational jetties and community built boat ramps for boating and fishing.

Both towns are serviced by coach from Adelaide and from Port Lincoln where there is an airport with daily flights in and out.


Council Permits Licenses Visitor Information Information Centre

Get in touch

PO Box 1864
Tumby Bay
South Australia, 5605

Opening hours

Office Hours Monday to Friday 8.30am - 4.30pm

Operation Hours Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5pm